Hummus recipe with peanut butter and lime

Hummus became one of my favorite dips this year. I wonder why? Maybe living and sharing the kitchen with an Israeli guy influenced my habits. Also, I have never heard of tahini before and now that I have discovered it, I really love it.  Tahini is the second main ingredient in a classical Hummus recipe. It gives it a typical flavor exuded from sesame seeds. It can also be used it by itself as a spread or a sauce for salads.

Two days ago, I was starving for hummus, I had some chickpeas already cooked in the fridge, so I started thinking: “great, let’s prepare some hummus”. Then, I realized I didn’t have any tahini left in my fridge. Damn it, what am I gonna do? I though to myself. I felt so frustrated. I was too lazy to go to the shop, so I tried to find an ingredient that could substitute for tahini?

Guess what? Peanut butter does!

Since I already was heading towards a food-adventure, I decided to add a few extra twists to create a delectable treat. That’s how I ended conceiving this peanut butter and lime hummus recipe.

Peanut butter and lime Hummus recipe

Total time: 10 min ( if chickpeas in can or already cooked)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup cooked chickpeas
  • 1/3 creamy peanut butter
  • 3 cloves roasted garlic
  • 1 Tbs paprika
  • 1 lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 Tbs oregano
  • 1 Tsp coriander
  • 1 Tsp cumin
IMG_7229

Most of the ingredients ready on the table

Preparation:

  1. Roast the garlic in a small pan

IMG_7214

2. Gather all the ingredients together in a big bowl, just keep 1/2 of the paprika to spread on top of the final preparation.

3. Blend the content of the bowl until you obtain a smooth paste. You may need to add water to get the right consistency.

IMG_7215

4. Try it–add a bit of spices if needed (salt, pepper, coriander, cumin, oregano)

5. Let it chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

The 5th step is essential, when I tried it at first, I though my Hummus was a fail. Believe me when I say, let it chill and then enjoy it, all the spices will spread through it and the taste will be divine.

Time to wear your apron and try it!

Interested about chickpeas?

Chickpeas: A Healthy Bean To Incorporate In Your Recipes

 

 

 

One thought on “Hummus recipe with peanut butter and lime

Leave a Reply

