French traditional lemon and olive oil yogurt cake

Today I wanted to go back in time. I needed to be reminded of my childhood treats. I have always had an amazing time cooking with / for my family when I was a kid. I remember taking measurements and manipulating the food with caution. My obsession with perfection was slowly emerging as a personality trait.

This Yogurt cake was the first cake I made with my aunt. I wanted to please my mum and show her that I could cook like an adult too. I was 10 years old and ready to bake the best cake my mum had ever eaten. 

Her favorite fruit is lemon, which is not surprising since lemon is an abundant fruit in Provence, South of France.  So my aunt bought lemon yogurt and started to supervise my work. To be honest, this cake is almost straightforward. This is because all measurements are done with the same yogurt pot (1/2 cup) and all the instructions are really simple.

No pressure, If you mess it up though…

If you are watching your weightsubstitutions can be done to decrease the calorie content. Let me know if you are interested to know how to do this and I will publish a lighter version.

As a matter of fact, this version of the French lemon and olive oil yogurt cake is already updated. I put all my knowledge together to bake a bomb pastry.

Lemon and olive oil yogurt cake

Total time: 50 min

Prep time: 10 min

Bake time: 30-40 min (at 180°C or 360°F)

Ingredients for 8:

  • 1 Lemon juice + all the zest
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt 2% fat no sugar added
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup organic corn starch
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 3 tsp water

img_7414.jpg

PREPARATION:

Preheat the oven to 350˚F (180˚C) and oil a 8-inch round cake pan. To make sure it will remove easily from the mold, coat the cake pan with some flour.

IMG_7429

In a small glass, soak the chia seeds with the water to create an egg substitution. ( I was missing an egg, maybe he escaped because it was Easter).

In a large bowl, combine the eggs,  the lemon juice and zest, the greek yogurt, and the sugar and mix it all together.

IMG_7422

Add the flour, the organic corn starch, and the baking powder to the mixture and stir harder.

IMG_7426

Add the olive oil and stir one last time.

img_7427.jpg

Pour the batter into a prepared pan.

IMG_7431

Bake for 30-40 minutes at 360˚F (180˚C), insert a knife into the center of the cake, if it comes out clean, the yogurt cake is ready.

IMG_7433

2 thoughts on “French traditional lemon and olive oil yogurt cake

  1. Ona says:

    This is the cake that my mum used to make when I was a child as well:) thank you for the recipe, I will make it to remember old times! Besides I love that cake:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

