Low Fat and Low Sugar Homemade Banana Cocoa Muffins

Hi folks,

Recently at my gym, I have been working with a client with a muffin addiction . The first time I trained him, he told me: “Pascaline don’t be mad, but after our evening session, I am gonna have a muffin”. I told him that it was ok, I wasn’t here to prohibit anything. In my point of view, having a treat once in a while is part of a good diet. However, eating it everyday is not the best option to reach your fitness goals.

The next time I saw him, he brought me two of his favorite muffins from his favorite bakery in Beverley hills. He explained me that they weren’t as bad for your health because they are low fat and all natural. I tried and approved them, but trust me, their sugar amount is way too high to be a healthy late night snack. Any high sugar food before going to bed is extra fat to stock in your body. The reason why?  While you are sleeping, your body is resting and your metabolism is decreasing.

My tip if you like sugary treats: eat it during the day at the end of a light and healthy meal.

healthy-997541_960_720

like this vegetarian salad

Despite that, I decided to offer Theo (my client) a healthier homemade muffin recipe, along with a delicious sample. He has been working so hard lately, I think he deserves to receive a healthy reward.

I spent a moment to find out a well-rounded recipe: not too fatty and/or too sugary. I am actually proud of the result. Let’s see if Theo likes it too?

Low Fat Banana Cacao Muffin Recipe

TOTAL TIME: 30 min

PREP TIME: 10 min

BAKE TIME: 15-20 min  (AT 205°C OR 400°F)

INGREDIENTS FOR: 10 mini muffins

  • 1 cup flour
  • 3 ripped bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 100 ml vegan protein milk
  • 1 tsp baking powder (1/2 paquet de levure)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
IMG_8135

Everything ready!

PREPARATION:

Preheat the oven to 400˚F (205˚C) and oil the muffin pan.

IMG_8138.JPG

I coated the pan with some flour but it wasnt necessary

Mash the bananas.

In a large bowl, combine the egg and the sugar and mix it all together.

Add the mashed bananas and mix it again.

img_8139.jpg

If you still have some banana’s chunks, don’t worry that’s fine.

Add the flour, the baking powder, the salt and the cocoa powder to the mixture and stir harder.

When the obtain a thick and regular batter add the milk and stir one last time.

Pour the batter at the 3/4 of each individual muffin pan.

IMG_8141

Look at these babies growing

Bake for 15-20 minutes at 400˚F (205˚C), insert a knife into the center of a muffin, if it comes out clean, the muffins are ready.

Enjoy it or offer it to people you love ✌️

4 thoughts on “Low Fat and Low Sugar Homemade Banana Cocoa Muffins

Leave a Reply

