Vegan Easiest And Fastest Chocolate Coffee Cake Ever

Yesterday, I arrived home and I wanted to make a chocolate cake. I checked a few recipes, feeling inspired. I opened my fridge…the deception–no eggs. Today, I still wanted to eat a nice chocolate cake (no low fat) but I still had the same issue: No eggs. Instead of making my way to the supermarket, I stayed home and complained. I was lazy, yes, even trainers are lazy. But I started thinking, vegan eats cakes, they don’t eat eggs, let’s check for a vegan chocolate cake recipe.

2735689978_949e3a02b1_z

Eggs are in a safe place (CC BY-SA 2.0)

I am gonna be honest, I am vegan friendly, I love vegan food but when I found this recipe I was perplexed. The list of ingredients was surprising and short. The recipe contains no binding substances like eggs (of course, it is a vegan cake) or even flax or chia seed.

Whatever, I was curious. I decided to try it. According to the recipe, this vegan chocolate cake takes only 6 min to prepare and 25 min to bake. I can spare 35 min of my life to experience it and who knows, it may work! It did! This cake is a success! The vinegar mixed with the baking soda generates carbon dioxide gas, which allows the vegan chocolate cake to leaven. I still cannot explain why the cake is not completely falling apart without a binding factor, maybe the fat content or maybe just the magic of baking.

Easy Vegan Chocolate Coffee Cake

TOTAL TIME: 35 MIN

PREP TIME: 6 MIN

BAKE TIME: 25-30 MIN  (AT 180°C OR 375°F)

PORTIONS NUMBER: 8

INGREDIENTS FOR:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups unbleached white flour (200g)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (60g)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar (225g)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil (60g)
  • 1 cup cold coffee (250ml)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar

PREPARATION:

Preheat the oven to 375˚F (180˚C).

Grease and coat the cake pan with some flour.

IMG_8992.JPG

Always grease and coat the pan properly

Mix together the flour, the cocoa, the baking soda, the salt, and the sugar  in a medium bowl.

IMG_8987.JPG

All the dry ingredients in a bowl

Dig a hole in the middle of it and add the oil, the coffee, and the vanilla.

Whisk everything until the batter gets smooth.

IMG_8990.JPG

Chocolate batter

Add the vinegar and stir quickly, there will be pale swirls in the batter as the baking soda and vinegar react. Don’t worry it’s a normal reaction

Pour the batter in the cake pan and bake it for 25 to 30 minutes.

IMG_8997

The vegan cake growing without any eggs

 

Dinngggggg: Your Vegan chocolate cake is ready!!!! Take it out of the oven, wait a few minutes and enjoy.

 

 

Original recipe on: http://pixelatedcrumb.com/2011/09/26/the-easiest-chocolate-cake-recipe-in-the-world/

Adapted from Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts

Leave a Reply

